Bret Harte Calling for Athletic Hall of Fame Nominations

Angels Camp, CA…Bret Harte High School is accepting nominations for foremost and dedicated student athletes, coaches and friends of Bret Harte Athletics to honor in the Bret Harte Athletic Hall of Fame induction class of 2019. This special honor will recognize members of the Bret Harte family who have distinguished themselves as outstanding contributors to athletics at Bret Harte High School, and possibly beyond. They have demonstrated an ongoing commitment to, and the promotion of, athletic excellence, character values and good sportsmanship.

The Bret Harte Athletic Hall of Fame nominees will be considered primarily on their achievements as high school student athletes and coaches. Character values, during and after their high school years, will be a major consideration. The Athletic Hall of Fame selection committee, comprised of community members, will be charged with reviewing and selecting nominees, as well as selecting Teams and Friends of Bret Harte Athletics inductees.

Student athlete nominees must be a graduate of Bret Harte High School. The candidate shall be eligible to be nominated no earlier than ten (10) years after graduation and have been a varsity team member of the sport for which he or she is being nominated. The candidate must have made a positive impact on the team(s) for which they played including measurable athletic achievement.

Coach nominees shall be eligible to be nominated no earlier than five (5) years after their exit from the sport. The candidate must have made a positive impact on the team(s) for which he or she coached including measurable athletic achievement.

The deadline for nominations is April 1.
The 2019 induction class will be honored during “Hall of Fame Weekend,” which is planned for October 4 and 5, 2019. Inductees will be recognized at halftime of the home football game on Friday, October 4 and the induction ceremony is scheduled for the evening of Saturday, October 5.

The inaugural 2018 induction class included:
Melvin Nayden, Class of 1951; Ray Barnett, Class of 1957; Archie Barnett, Class of 1961; Mike Lewis, Class of 1964; Rich Cathcart, Class of 1967; Hal Dillashaw, Class of 1975; Mary Harper, Class of 1984; James Hecker, Class of 1985; Dawn Miner Carroll, Class of 1989; Tanya Dooley Ehlert, Class of 1990; Brian Singleton, Class of 1991; Kellie Cathcart Taylor, Class of 1993; Anthony Eberhardt, Class of 1993; Amy Pimentel Allaire, Class of 1994; Brian Barnett, Class of 1997; Becca Bales Kane, Class of 2000; Harold Clements, Coach; Anthony O’Geen, Coach; William Harper, Friend; and the 1988 and 1989 Girls Cross Country Teams, lead by Head Coach Anthony O’Geen.

To submit a nomination or for more information, go to the Athletics Hall of Fame webpage at .

For more information please call the Bret Harte Athletics at 209 736 2507.


The Bret Harte Union High School District is an educational community committed to providing all students a quality education with a multiple of learning opportunities in a safe and orderly environment fully equipped to teach 21st century skills. As a learning community, we strive to increase student achievement, to be responsive to community needs and to foster accountability for all. For more information, visit